Cowgirls Rally To Beat McMurry; Claim Share of ASC West Title

Cowgirls Rally To Beat McMurry; Claim Share of ASC West Title
ABILENE, Texas – Hardin-Simmons clinched at least a share of the American Southwest Conference West Division title and earned the right to host the ASC Championship with a come-from-behind 5-4 win over McMurry on Tuesday afternoon at the Streich Tennis Center.

McMurry took an early advantage after doubles. The War Hawks won 9-7 at No. 1 and 8-1 at No. 2. Hannah and Jenna Smith teamed to win 8-4 at No. 3 doubles.

In singles action, Hannah Smith won at No. 4 to tie the match at 2-2. McMurry then took the next two matches at No. 1 and No. 2 singles to take a 4-2 lead.

Michaela Ellison got the Cowgirls within one as she rallied from down a set to win 1-6, 6-4, 6-2 at No. 3 singles and cut the deficit to 4-3. Jasmine Briant then had to do the same at No. 5 singles. She won 3-6, 7-5, 6-1 to even the match.

The final match on the court was freshman Kyra Mobley at No. 6 singles and after winning a tiebreaker in the first set 7-3 she rolled to a 6-2 win in the second set to give the Cowgirls the win and snap the 13-match winning streak for the War Hawks.

Both teams are now 13-5 on the season and HSU is 5-0 in ASC West play and McMurry fell to 4-1. The Cowgirls host Southwestern on Friday.

Hardin-Simmons 5, McMurry 4


1. Chloe Patterson (MCM) def. Shayne Cook, 6-2, 7-6 (7-3)

2. Bree Brosig (MCM) def. Jenna Smith, 7-6 (7-3), 6-2

3. Michaela Ellison (HSU) def. Sam Ritz, 1-6, 6-4, 6-2

4. Hannah Smith (HSU) def. Zayra Gomez, 6-3, 6-4

5. Jasmine Briant (HSU) def. Gabby Camacho, 3-6, 7-5, 6-1

6. Kyra Mobley (HSU) def. Symphony Munoz, 7-6 (7-4), 6-2


1. Brosig/Ritz (MCM) def. Ellison/Cook, 9-7

2. Patterson/Camacho (MCM) def. Mobley/Jasmine Briant, 8-1

3. Jenna Smith/Hannah Smith (HSU) def. Gomez/Neah Garza, 8-4

--- ---