All Six Cowgirls Honored By ASC

All Six Cowgirls Honored By ASC

RICHARDSON, Texas  — Hardin-Simmons' women's tennis team saw all six of its players earn recognition for their seasons in awards voted on by the league's coaches. 

Tram Le and Kelci Jackson were named second-team all-ASC at No. 2 doubles.

Angie Nhan at No. 2 single and Shelby Saul at No. 6 singles were named honorable mention all-ASC selections.

Genene Haddad and Nhan were honorable mention selections at No. 1 doubles and Amelia Cheney and Saul earned honorable mention nods at No. 3 doubles.

Texas-Dallas senior Rachel Houston and Texas Lutheran freshman Sofia Vega were named most valuable players in their respective divisions.



West Division Most Valuable Player: Sofia Vega, Fr., #1/1, Texas Lutheran

West Division Newcomer of the Year: Brittni Fausett, #1/1, Sr., Mary Hardin-Baylor

West Division Freshman of the Year: Sofia Vega, #1/1, Texas Lutheran

West Division Sportsmanship Athlete of the Year: Kelley Spahn, #5/3, Sr., Schreiner

West Division Coach of the Year: James Cohagan, Mary Hardin-Baylor



(# indicates tie in voting at that position)




No. 1           Sofia Vega                              Fr.                Texas Lutheran                   Corpus Christi, Texas (Flour Bluff HS)

No. 2           Caitlin Zarr                              So.               Texas Lutheran                   La Grange, Texas (LGHS)

No. 3           Ash Lee Bilbo                          Jr.                Mary Hardin-Baylor            College Station, Texas (Bryan HS)

No. 4           Hannah Warren                      Fr.                Mary Hardin-Baylor            The Woodlands, Texas (TWHS)

No. 5           Kelley Spahn                           Sr.                Schreiner                             Gonzales, Texas (Gonzales HS)

No. 6           Tawnie Yeaw                          Fr.                Mary Hardin-Baylor            Foothill Ranch, Calif. (Calvary Chapel)


No. 1              Brittni Fausett & Ash Lee Bilbo, Mary Hardin-Baylor

No. 2              Teresa Gaitan & Karyn Swink, Schreiner

No. 3              Chaley Shiffler & Angelie Juaneza, Mary Hardin-Baylor




No. 1           Brittni Fausett                        Sr.                Mary Hardin-Baylor            Cameron, Texas (Tarleton State)

No. 2           Chaley Shiffler                        Jr.                Mary Hardin-Baylor            Katy, Texas (Morton Ranch HS)

No. 3           Teresa Gaitan                         Jr.                Schreiner                             Uvalde, Texas (UHS)

No. 4           Karyn Swink                            Fr.                Schreiner                             Shertz, Texas (Samuel Clemens HS)

No. 5           Angelie Juanaeza                    So.               Mary Hardin-Baylor            Katy, Texas (Morton Ranch HS)

No. 6           Alicia Abell                              Fr.                Texas Lutheran                   Columbus, Texas (CHS)


No. 1              Sofia Vega & Caitlin Zarr, Texas Lutheran

No. 2              Tram Le & Kelci Jackson, Hardin-Simmons#

                      Hannah White & Lizzie Ostroff, Mary Hardin-Baylor#

No. 3              Kelley Spahn & Brooke Ohlman, Schreiner




No. 1           Leanna Haynes                       Fr.                Schreiner                             Odessa, Texas (Permian HS)

No. 2           Angie Nhan                             Sr.                Hardin-Simmons                Abilene, Texas (AHS)

No. 3           Samantha Guerrero                Jr.                Howard Payne                    Big Lake, Texas (Reagan County HS)

No. 4           Yvonne Castillo#                     Sr.                Texas Lutheran                   Converse, Texas (Judson HS)

                    Tram Le#                                 S.                 Hardin-Simmons                San Angelo, Texas (Cornerstone HS)

No. 5           Katherine Hermann                So.               Texas Lutheran                   El Campo, Texas (ECHS)

No. 6           Brooke Ohlman                       Fr.                Schreiner                             Shertz, Texas (Byron P. Steele HS)

                    Shelby Saul                             Fr.                Hardin-Simmons                Canadian, Texas (CHS)


No. 1              Genene Haddad & Angie Nhan, Hardin-Simmons

No. 3              Katherine Hermann & Alicia Abell, Texas Lutheran

                      Amelia Cheney & Shelby Saul, Hardin-Simmons


--- HSU ---