Cowboys Finish Second At ASC Championship

Cowboys Finish Second At ASC Championship

ABILENE, Texas – Hardin-Simmons' men's track and field team finished second at the American Southwest Conference Championship held at HSU on Friday and Saturday.

The Cowboys' second-place finish was the highest for the Cowboys since 2015. McMurry won the event with 171 points and the HSU was second with 151.5 points. East Texas Baptist was third with 136.50, LeTourneau was fourth with 120.5, Concordia placed fifth with 81, Belhaven was sixth with 54.5 points, Ozarks was seventh with 44 and Louisiana College had 14 points.

On Saturday, HSU made up a lot of ground in the running events but was too far behind the War Hawks after the field events to catch all the way up.

HSU received fifth thru eighth-place finishes from Juwan Crawford, Tanner Wright, Konah Edashall and Daelen Warren-Fruge in the 100 meters. Wright and Edashall placed sixth and eighth in the 200 meters.

Aaron Martinez was third in the 400, Hasanai Chanriang was fourth and Malik Pratt was sixth in the 400.

Martinez picked up a gold medal in the 800 meter runs with a time of 2:00.72. Pratt finished seventh for the Cowboys. Sammy Magallen added a sixth-place finish in the 1,500. River Smith added a sixth-place finish in the 5,000.

In hurdles action, Samuel Wells placed second in the 110, James McIntyre was fourth, Thomas Couch fifth and Joseph Gilligan placed eighth.

Chanriang won his third straight ASC title with a time of 55.38 in the 400 hurdles. Travis Garner was fifth and Noah Straw seventh.

James McIntyre placed fourth in the triple jump and Devon Drane finished off a solid meet with a third place in the shot put and a fourth in the hammer throw. He placed in the top eight of all four throwing events.

HSU was second in the 4x100 meter relay with a time of 42.81 and closed the event in record style winning the 4x400 meter relay with a school-record time of 3:17.87. The team consisted of Chanriang, Wright, Pratt and Martinez.

Aaron Martinez was named the ASC Outstanding Freshman Athlete.


Sportsmanship Athlete of the Year: Arvin Hrushka, LeTourneau
Outstanding Freshman Athlete: Aaron Martinez, Hardin-Simmons
High Point Athlete:   Mack Broussard, East Texas Baptist
Outstanding Field Athlete: Krystofer Campos, McMurry
Outstanding Track Athlete: Mack Broussard, East Texas Baptist
Coaching Staff of the Year: McMurry


Men's All-Conference Team

Hasanai "Go" Chanriang

Juwan Crawford

Devon Drane

E.J. Konah

Aaron Martinez

Malik Pratt

River Smith

Samuel Wells

Tanner Wright


Honorable Mention 

Teddy McIntyre


--- ---