Cowboys Fall To UTD In ASC Final

Cowboys Fall To UTD In ASC Final
RICHARDSON, Texas – Hardin-Simmons' men's soccer team fell 2-0 to UT Dallas in the American Southwest Conference championship match on Sunday afternoon at the UTD Soccer Field.

The game was open end-to-end hard-nosed action from the opening whistle with both teams playing physical styles. The game was played in a solid rain for most of the game with heavy down pours at other times.

The teams played a scoreless first half but the Comets got on the board early in the second half when Connor Crabtree scored his first goal of the season when he redirected a Kevin Whatley cross for a goal.

In the 84th minute the Comets picked up another goal when Crabtree headed home a Danny Meyer free kick to make it 2-0.

HSU had a 14-12 advantage in shots in the game and a 4-3 advantage in shots on goal.

Joseph Weber kept the Cowboys off the board with four saves in the shutout. Michael Vargas had one save in goal for HSU.

Vargas, Tanner Coffin and Danny Benyamin were named to the all-tournament team.

The Cowboys are 9-4-3 on the year and UTD improved to 13-4-2. The field for the NCAA Tournament will be announced on Monday and the Cowboys would need to be awarded one of the at-large berths by the NCAA Committee.

If it is the final game of the season, 10 Cowboys played their final game for HSU -- Tanner Coffin, Jio Gonzalez, Aaron Henry, Cole Johnson, Ryan Lutz, Laurent Maksoud, Rowan Meyer, Zach Miller, Colyn Moore and Michael Vargas.

--- ---