Smith Named Semifinalist For Jack Nicklaus Award

Smith Named Semifinalist For Jack Nicklaus Award

NORMAN, Okla. – Hardin-Simmons senior golfer Luke Smith has been named a semifinalist for the 2019 Division III Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award presented by Barbasol.

Smith has been selected for the NCAA Championship next week. He also is on pace to break his own school non-scholarship era record for lowest scoring average at 73.2 in a season and career (75.0).  

Division III finalists for the award will be named May 14. Nicklaus Award recipients will be announced May 30 with the honor presented by Jack Nicklaus at a ceremony during the final round of the Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide at Muirfield Village Golf Club.

In addition to receiving the Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award, the recipients from each Division will compete in the Barbasol Shootout for an exemption into the PGA TOUR's Barbasol Championship, held July 18-21, at the Champions at Keene Trace in Lexington, Ky.

The Barbasol Shootout will be held Saturday, June 1 at The Ohio State University Golf Club's Scarlet Course in Columbus, Ohio - the same club where Jack Nicklaus played collegiate golf for the Buckeyes.


Division III Semifinalists

Andrew Abel, Illinois Wesleyan

Jacob Arnett, Oglethorpe

Matthew Christl, Southwestern (TX)

Henry Gee, Huntingdon

Josh Gibson, Hope

Sam Goldenring, Williams

Larkin Gross, Methodist

Emmet Herb, St. Thomas (MN)

Josh Hill, Guilford

Ben Johnson, Illinois Wesleyan

Ken Kong, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps

Colin Laszlo, Wittenberg

Jason Li, Carnegie Mellon

Drew Mathers, Huntingdon

James Mishoe, Guilford

Matt Organisak, Emory

Cade Osgood, Southwestern (TX)

Brian Peccie, Washington & Lee

Drew Pershing, Illinois Wesleyan

Will Rosenfield, Trinity (CT)

Logan Ryan, Emory

Stephen Shephard, Huntingdon

Dan Shepherd, Methodist

Luke Smith, Hardin-Simmons

Sutherland Stith, Southwestern (TX)

Colin Uecker, Texas Lutheran

Cameron Willis, Wittenberg

Rob Wuethrich, Illinois Wesleyan

Connor Yakubov, Emory

Eric Yiu, Emory

--- ---