Seven Cowboys Named All-Region

Seven Cowboys Named All-Region


MINNEAPOLIS – Hardin-Simmons' football team had seven players selected to the all-South region teams that were announced on Tuesday.

Senior Reese Childress was the lone Cowboy on the first team as a punter. He averaged 39.8 yards per punt and put 13 of his 35 punts inside the 20.

The Cowboys had two offensive linemen on the second team as junior Jonathan Castaneda was honored for the third time in his career and senior center James Findley was named second team center. Rae Miilsap made the second team offense as a return man.

Defensively, Dedrick Strambler was named to the second team after leading the Cowboys with five interceptions.

Sophomore running back Bryson Hammonds and senior offensive guard Ty Crain were both named to the the second team. 

The Cowboys went 9-2 and advanced to the NCAA Division III playoffs for the fourth consecutive year.

Full teams can be found here.

--- ---