Childress Named Gagliardi Semifinalist

Childress Named Gagliardi Semifinalist


COLLEGEVILLE, Minn. – Hardin-Simmons' Reese Childress has been named one of the 13 semifinalists for the 2018 Gagliardi Trophy an award presented by Jostens and the J-Club of Saint John's University (Minn.) to the most outstanding football player in NCAA Division III.

Childress is a first-team all-American Southwest Conference player as a punter and as a wide receiver. He finished the season with 1322 all-purpose yards and 14 touchdowns. He finished his career second on the all-purpose yardage list with 4,603 yards and fourth with 46 touchdowns scored.

He is the seventh Cowboy to be named a semifinalist/finalist since 2000 joining, Corbett Boone, Justin Feaster (2), Lance Moore, Jordan Neal, Jessie Ramos and Cory Ward.  

The semifinalist list also contains at least two nominees from all four NCAA regions, as well as four defensive players. Ten of the thirteen participated in the first round of the Division III playoffs with five moving on to the second round this coming Saturday, Nov. 24.

The Gagliardi Trophy, given annually since 1993, recognizes excellence in athletics, academics and community service. The award is named after John Gagliardi, Saint John's legendary Hall of Fame head football coach who retired in 2012 with 489 career victories, the most in college football history. John passed away this past fall at the age of 91.

Four Gagliardi Trophy finalists will be released by on Thursday, December 6th, in a live streaming broadcast. The winner of the 2018 Gagliardi Trophy will be announced by on Friday, December 14th prior to the Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl. 

The trophy design features a sculpture of Gagliardi and a player, representing the teacher-coach and the student-athlete in a one-on-one sideline consultation. Hand-cast in bronze on a polished wood base, the trophy stands nearly two feet tall and weighs approximately 64 pounds. The words "The Gagliardi Trophy presented by Jostens & J-Club" are printed on the acrylic panel behind the figures. The words "Division III 2018 Player of the Year" and "Honoring Excellence in Football, Academics and Community Service" are etched on two panels below the figures.

Nominations were submitted by colleges across the country, and the semifinalist were selected by the J-Club Board of Directors. 13 semifinalists will now move on to the national-selection committee. In past years 10 semifinalists have been named, but additional spots were needed for 2018 based on the voting totals at the nominee stage. The Gagliardi Trophy national-selection committee is comprised of 39 former small college football players, former Gagliardi Trophy recipients, business leaders, academicians and sports writers from around the country. Each cast a ballot ranking the semifinalists.

A fan vote, which will serve as the 40th committee member, is live on and runs until Monday, Dec. 3, the same day the national-selection voting is closed.

The fan voting link is:

Hayden Bauserman, Shenandoah, QB
Lamar Carswell, Trine, RB
Reese Childress, HSU, WR/KR/P
Jackson Erdmann, Saint John's, QB
Canann Gebele, Denison, QB
Joe Germinerio, Brockport, QB
Nick Giorgio, Springfield, DE
Harry Henschler, UW-Whitewater, DE
LeAnthony Reasnover, Eureka, RB
Danny Robinson, Mount Union, LB
Broc Rutter, North Central, QB
Matt Sacia, Wartburg, QB
Eric Stevenson, Wheaton, LB






--- ---






Chad Grubbs  

Hardin-Simmons University

Director of Athletic Communications

(325) 670-1473, office

(325) 665-7932, cell

Facebook | @HSUAthletics on Twitter