Rodriguez Wins Rimington Award As Nation's Top Center

Rodriguez Wins Rimington Award As Nation's Top Center


NEW YORK, N.Y. – The awards continue to roll in for Vic Rodriguez, a senior captain of the Hardin-Simmons football team,  as he was named the 2017 Rimington Award winner as the top center in Division III.

The senior from Mesquite is the second Hardin-Simmons recipient of the award, joining Josh Knox in 2006. Rodriguez was named the American Southwest Conference offensive lineman of the year and was named to the American Football Coaches Association All-American Team.

He joins NAIA winner Xavier Carter of Reinhardt (Ga.) University, Division II winner Taylor Nikithser of California University (Pa.), Football Championship Series winner Jacob Ohnesorge of South Dakota State and Division I winner Billy Price of Ohio State.

The award winners are selected by Jason Dannelly, coordinator of the Rimington Award and longtime writer of college football in non-FBS divisions as part of the continued tradition of one of College Football's most prestigious awards. Dannelly was the founder of the Victory Sports Network and is a member of the Football Writers Association.

The 2017 Rimington Trophy presentation banquet will be held January 13, 2017, at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Neb.  The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in all divisions of College Football.

About the Rimington Trophy

The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the most outstanding center in NCAA Division I College Football. Since its inception, the seventeen-year old award has raised over $3.6 million for the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $130 million for the cystic fibrosis community.

Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only two-time winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman. For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit

The Rimington Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 22 awards boast 742 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.


--- ---