Cowboys Open Season With A Pair of Wins

Cowboys Open Season With A Pair of Wins

ABILENE, Texas — Hardin-Simmons' men's tennis team officially opened its season with a 9-0 win over Texas-Permian Basin and followed that up with a 9-0 win over Schreiner in the American Southwest Conference opener on Friday at the Streich Tennis Center.

Erich Bein had a 6-3, 6-1 win at No. 1 singles and Michael McCullough won 6-1, 6-4 at No. 4 singles and Steven Stanley won 7-6 (7-5), 6-2 as the straight-set winners for the Cowboys against UTPB. Sean Strehlow, Cullen Dees, and Gavin Ybarra at No. 2, 3 and 5 each won their matches in three sets. The third sets were played as a pro set to 10.

Bein and Strehlow, McCullough and Tony Record and Ybarra and Stanley cruised in doubles against UTPB.

Against Schreiner, who is coached by former Cowboy player Wade Morgan, HSU rolled against the shorthanded Mountaineers.

The Cowboys did not play their top three players in singles. McCullough moved up to No. 1 and won 6-2, 6-1. Ybarra and Stanley won their second singles matches of the day and Jordan Wilson and Jesse Rawlings won in singles as well. Nathan Chavez earned a default win at No. 6.

HSU also swept all three doubles matches, with Bein and Strehlow winning at No. 1 doubles.

The Cowboys are 2-0 and will host Austin College at 9 a.m. followed by an exhibition against New Mexico Military on Saturday.


Hardin-Simmons 9, Texas-Permian Basin 0


1. Erich Bein (HSU) def. Alvaro Sifuentes, 6-3, 6-1

2. Sean Strehlow (HSU) def. Meliton Morales, 6-3, 0-6, 10-6

3. Cullen Dees (HSU) def. Austin Fowler, 6-3, 2-6, 10-5

4. Michael McCullough (HSU) def. Anthony Ellsworth, 6-1, 6-4

5. Gavin Ybarra (HSU) def. Edgar Lazcano, 7-6 (7-5), 5-7, 10-4

6. Steven Stanley (HSU) def. Adan Arbogast, 7-6 (7-5), 6-2


1. Strehlow/Bein (HSU) def. Sifuentes/Ellsworth, 8-2

2. McCullough/Tony Record (HSU) def. Morales/Fowler, 8-5

3. Ybarra/Stanley (HSU) def. Arbogast/Jonathan Candelaria, 8-1


Hardin-Simmons 9, Schreiner 0


1. McCullough (HSU) def. Austin Carrola, 6-2, 6-1

2. Ybarra (HSU) def. Cameron Timber, 6-1, 7-6 (11-9)

3. Stanley (HSU) def. Nathan West, 6-2, 6-4

4. Jordan Wilson (HSU) def. Michael Wallace, 6-1, 6-2

5. Jesse Rawlings (HSU) def. Matt Salazar, 6-3, 6-3

6. Nathan Chavez (HSU) won by default.


1. Strehlow/Bein (HSU) def. Carrolla/Timber, 8-6

2. McCullough/Tony Record (HSU) def. West/Wallace, 8-2

3. Ybarra/Stanley (HSU) won by default.

--- HSU ---